top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarc Wainwright

EITE Journal 3#

Yeah nah yeah nah yeah. This one's a bit late, the last two days were the celebration of my mum's birthday, so I was busy organising and enjoying that. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MUMSY! Since my last journal update, I've begun work on the combat system. I decided to go with a turn-based system. I kept Lord of the Rings: The Third Age in my head when I started, as it's one of my favorite turn-based RPGs and it was one of my first RPGs when I was a kid. But in all honesty, it just came out looking a little like pokemon (pls don't smite me Nintendo overlords.








I used the Brackeys (RIP) tutorial on turn-based combat as a base, I obviously want to incorporate this with my stat/equipment system, both of which will be coming at a later date. Although I've got a prototype "use item" function, it's wayyy too rough to show now. Probably with the rest of the equipment/inventory system. Here's a screenshot of what it looks like currently:

I've also begun looking into advertising frameworks and possibilities for the future. I also recently joined my local IGDA chapter, so that's exciting. I do enjoy the discord it allows with other game developers. I was slacking for a while there but I like to think I've re-lit my fire for working on my project(s). See ya next week, have a good one! mwah!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EITE Journal 5#

After last week I focused my efforts on multiple fronts. I focused on world-building, code commenting/cleaning up and optimization and finally, I worked to add functionality that would allow for quest

bottom of page