top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarc Wainwright

EITE Journal 5#

After last week I focused my efforts on multiple fronts. I focused on world-building, code commenting/cleaning up and optimization and finally, I worked to add functionality that would allow for quest specific dialogue. I mentioned in previous entries I'm using the VIDE node data system, it has proved invaluable, in this effort. It had some built in functionality that made this soooo much easier. Although at this moment, the project exists as a prototype, so some functions are basically glass cannons. Like the quest specific dialogue. They'll only work once, the old cheap and dirty prototype programming approach. Now I'm trying to introduce a bunch of re-use, to avoid this glass cannon behaviour and to also, you know, make it work. After I've finished this, I'll be putting a demo together and start some alpha/beta testing, with some spit and polish after the fact.


Commenting and documenting the code has been a little bit of a challenge, mainly because I spend so much time on one thing, I need to re-connect the dots on how the classes all function together, kind of like building a spider web. As for the lore side of things, I'm keeping that under wraps until the official release, although I am very excited with what I've achieved so far. The last systems to make are the stat and inventory systems, but the cleaning up of the code along with the documentation and programming might take a little while. Trying to balance working 5 days a week with this project has been a chore. All I can do is try my best to achieve the most I can in the little amount of time I have free, mostly weekends. I have no insight into how to optimize this process, other than some basic time management and also having it as a passion helps as well. Although, I'd love to converse with fellow devs to hear their insight on the matter, a little discourse always makes for good ideas.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EITE Journal 4#

Coming off the heels of next week I've started working on a prototype Quest System! This has been the most exciting part for me so far. I want to make my quest system something challenging that actua

bottom of page